Love and marriage

I update yesterday’s post to reflect what I’ve actually gotten done this weekend. Some of it was saved for today, since I’ve been battling a migraine all weekend. Blergh. I finally took an Imitrex today, so the head pain is gone, but I’ve been lethargic and jut generally icky feeling all day. Still, I have been determined to get some things done, so I did. I’ve been employing the Unfuck Your Habitat 20/10 method to get things done today. With three of ’em, I finished the bathroom, cleaned all the mirrors, put away the groceries, tidied/wiped down the dining table, attempted (but I reckon failed) to fix a broken chair, and swept and Swiffered the kitchen/dinette area. Not bad for 60 minutes of work.

My husband is shooting again today. I really miss him. I hope that doesn’t sound pathetic. And even if it does, it’s still probably a good thing. I read this two-part series called 16 Ways I Blew My Marriage and The Other 15 Ways I Blew My Marriage. Earlier this years, I read 15 Ways to Stay Married for 15 Years. One of the big common threads I’ve noticed in lists like these is to avoid complacency. Like any relationship, it’s easy to start taking your marriage and your partner for granted. I’ve only been marriage for eight months and with my husband for about two years, but even in that short time, I can see little glimpses of it peeking in. It’s an everyday job to fight it. Being comfortable with your partner is wonderful and definitely not a bad thing, but the problem emerges when you stop actively seeing him as your co-pilot and the most important person in your world.

When I was in St. Louis thinking about my life, I realized how lucky I was to have my husband. He was there for me from 1,500+ miles away in exactly the way I needed him. He has an uncanny ability to know when to cheer me up and when to let me be sad, and his texts and calls were always perfectly timed. I’ve been caught up in so much unhappiness recently that I stopped seeing all those beautiful things about him, so sitting sad and alone in that hotel room connected to that hospital, I vowed to appreciate him more honestly and openly. So far, it’s been two lovely weeks, despite external annoyances. I’m so lucky to have him, and I intend to make sure he knows it.

And now I return to patiently awaiting his return whilst eating a giant bowl pf soup and watching Doctor Who.

Leave a Reply

