On crock pot cooking and closet cleaning

(Here’s take two on this post that my WordPress iPhone app decided to eat. No good, friend.)

I was sick all last week, most of the weekend, and today I’ve spent about six hours staring at Quick Books and an Excel document. Who said my life isn’t glamorous?

I came home motivated to get some housework done, which means that there must be a God after all. Usually I’m too tired or lazy in the weekday evenings and too uninterested on the weekends to do any tidying, but I’m actually starting to hate living a disordered life, so the cleaning bug keeps biting. It started with finally putting away my clean laundry. Then I noted how messy one of my closets was, so I cleaned it up. Then I put away the shoes that were strewn about the apartment. With my final burst of energy, I cleared the coffee table and tidied the bathroom. Everything still needs a good scrubbing, but I feel accomplished.

It’s amazing that I actually have the energy and desire to clean/tidy/whatever on the evenings that I don’t have to cook dinner. After an eight-hour workday and a two-hour roundtrip commute, coming home to put dinner together leads me to crashing out on the couch immediately post-prandial. Yesterday I did a fair amount of food prep — baked oatmeal for four breakfasts, dinner that was large enough for a couple of lunch leftovers, and chopping and assembling tonight’s dinner in the crock pot. I just stuck it in the fridge overnight, and this morning I added the tofu, placed it in the base, and had my husband set it to low at about 11:00 a.m. He also started brown rice in the rice cooker when I left the office, so everything was ready when I walked in the door. It was awesome. I love the crock pot. It saves me so much time and energy during the week. If it weren’t forecasted to be around 90° this week again, I would use it for every meal.

We just finished watching The Amazing Race, and I took advantage of the last three commercial breaks to do planks, push-ups, squats, and crunches. Since I’ve been increasing my running — and I actually tackled my first 5-mile run yesterday, whew! — I’ve noticed some lower back pain from a weak core, plus some hip stiffness and tightness in my thighs. It’s nothing some good strength exercises and stretching won’t solve, methinks.

And now, gentle reader(s), it’s time to wrap up my evening with some hygiene, some (iced) tea, and unfucking of my tomorrow:

  • Wash the dishes in your sink
  • Get your outfit for tomorrow together, including accessories
  • Set up coffee/tea/breakfast
  • Make your lunch
  • Put your keys somewhere obvious
  • Wash your face and brush your teeth
  • Charge your electronics
  • Pour a little cleaner in the toilet bowl (if you don’t have pets or children or sleepwalking adults)
  • Set your alarm
  • Go to bed at a reasonable hour
Leave a Reply

